Is there Such a thing as a “White anti-Racist”?

I was on my facebook page when this article pop up from the QWOCMAP page. I had read it a while back, but find it to have many great points.I tend to agree with many points in this article and think I was trying to say some of this in my other posts. Whiteness is also a political and social construction, and a lived experience. For us as folks who are considered white we must take a hard look at how we approach our work and this sentence from the article is important point, “Additionally, white activism, especially white anti-racism, is predicated on an economy of gratitude” We need to really get clear that no one owes us a thank you or gratitude for doing what is right. Especially unlearning our white privilege. Anyway I will re-post others work and helpful readings on this blog as well my own thoughts, take what you want and leave the rest. Again, discussion is encouraged 🙂

The White Anti-Racist is an Oxymoron An Open Letter to “White Anti-Racists”

By Kil Ja Kim

http://www.nathanielturner.com/whiteantiracistsopenletter.htm

Leave a Reply

